Frankie's World: A two-colour graphic novel about standing-out and fitting-in when you feel different. Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier: 1

£4.495
FREE Shipping

Frankie's World: A two-colour graphic novel about standing-out and fitting-in when you feel different. Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier: 1

Frankie's World: A two-colour graphic novel about standing-out and fitting-in when you feel different. Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier: 1

RRP: £8.99
Price: £4.495
£4.495 FREE Shipping

In stock

We accept the following payment methods

Description

Bronnie is so lovely with the boys and we also felt that having a man enthusing about the books set a great example. I loved the representation of disabled people, not only the main character Frankie (who is revealed to be autistic towards the end) but also her best friend Sam who uses a wheelchair.

But it is not certain that she will find him, or if she does what the outcome of their meeting might be. Your selection was perfect for our children and what really made the difference was your ability to engage with each child, discuss their interests and help them to choose a suitable book based on your extensive knowledge of the books you were selling.This is a funny, frank, and fresh own voices graphic novel about speaking up and fitting in when you feel different. I liked how the friendships with Sam and Rebecca were portrayed, they always saw the best in Frankie. Just as important is a page on how to be a good friend, and a way to discover your own funny superhero name.

Her quirky personality and lack of height makes her the perfect target for two bullies in her class – Nadine and Shauna. Congratulations and thanks to the author for creating a story that will resonate with so many young people. She'll get on with that as soon as her bullies and school and everything else stop being quite so annoying. So when she gets the chance to compete in a Battle of the Bands contest, Frankie couldn’t be more excited. This booklist aims to provide a range of children's and teens' books that feature characters who are autistic, or who have Autistic Spectrum Conditions.The appealing cover art, fresh voice, and autism representation will add up to this spending very little time on the shelf waiting for its next reader. Similar to any young person who feels like they don't fit in, Frankie has to learn to recognise that her differences make her special, and that the world is a much better place for her, and her unique ways of seeing and interacting with the world. Aoife Dooley is an illustrator, author and comedian Ireland whose first Children’s book was published in 2019 by Little Island Books. Dooley's art is simple, somewhat stark despite all of the rounded edges, and visually appealing, with blue, orange, white, and black standing out. Alternatively, we suggest that you visit your local library and request to borrow a copy from a friendly librarian.

I know we’re only in the first half of January, Frankie’s World is definitely going to be on my list of 2022 favourites come December. I always feel uncomfortable with storylines like this as I worry that it might encourage children to put themselves in potentially dangerous situations. Daily, Fern visits the Zuckermans to sit and muse with Wilbur and with the clever pen spider Charlotte, who befriends him when he is lonely and downcast. The story covers some really important topics alongside neurodiversity, including self-acceptance, what it means to be family, the importance of friendship, and treating people with kindness. With her new found karate confidence, her friend’s help and the courage they give her, Frankie finally learns she’s not even a little bit alien – but autistic like her dad.One thing I loved about Frankie's story is that, while it shone a light and gave a great perspective on neurodiversity, it also reiterates the fact that Frankie does have all of the same tribulations and worries of any other 11 year old; she may have her own specific challenges to face, but she isn't as different as she might think. In making these friendships, standing up to her bullies, and getting to know her Dad, Frankie learns to accept her differences.

Unfortunately, Mam is often in and out of hospital because of a problem with her heart, and Frankie is left with her annoying little sister and staying at her grandparents’ house. After all, there are the questions from Doctor Moran, and then the meetings between her mum and Principal Daly. Some of the data that are collected include the number of visitors, their source, and the pages they visit anonymously. I also appreciated the closeness with her mother as so many middle grade books ignore the parental relationship.The illustration style is really fun and the story is a great mix of funny, gripping and thought-provoking.



  • Fruugo ID: 258392218-563234582
  • EAN: 764486781913
  • Sold by: Fruugo

Delivery & Returns

Fruugo

Address: UK
All products: Visit Fruugo Shop